Skip to main content
ExLibris
  • Subscribe by RSS
  • Ex Libris Knowledge Center

    Editing/Messaging Users in Bulk

    Translatable
    To edit or notify users in bulk, you must have one of the following roles:
    • User Manager
    • User Administrator
    You can make changes and/or send notifications to users in bulk using the Update/Notify Users job. For more information, see Running Manual Jobs on Defined Sets.
    When notifying users, a pre-formatted letter is sent to the users. To configure the letters, see the User Notifications Letter in Configuring Alma Letters and Configuring User Notification Types.
    When changing users, you can convert users between internal and external, update their expiry dates or statuses. add blocks, add roles, and so forth.
    For example, you can convert a set of external patrons to internal users (for information on external vs. internal users, see Overview of User Management in Alma). This is useful, for example, when a group of patrons is graduating from your university and will no longer be managed by the university system but you want to allow them to continue using the library. These patrons can continue to use Alma and retain their usage history, including any requests, checked-out books, fines, and so forth.
    After converting external users to internal users, unless you select otherwise, Alma sets all of their passwords to firstname_lastname. If the passwords are changed, and you select to notify the users, Alma notifies the users of the change in their credentials.
    • Was this article helpful?