Skip to main content
ExLibris
  • Subscribe by RSS
  • Ex Libris Knowledge Center

    Pivot Researcher Home Page: Creating, Editing and Deleting Groups

    • Product: Pivot

    Creating, Editing, and Deleting Groups

    Pivot allows you to create Groups of people with whom you can share Funding Opportunities or Funding Searches. If you have a group of people you wish to regularly share opps/searches with, creating a group of email addresses in Piviot will save you from having to repeatedly enter those emails into the Share box.

    To create a new Group:

    1. On the upper right of the page, you will see an arrow next to your name. Click that arrow and select the Groups menu item.

    Administrators can create and manage groups from their Admin menu as well. Admins will also see a pre-defined group Pivot Research Administrators at your Institution.

    1. Click the New Group link
    2. Give your Group a name
    3. Enter your group members’ email addresses. As you begin typing, Pivot will display names from your Institution. You can select a displayed name or if no name displays, simply enter the person’s email address. Hit the tab key after entering an email address manually to add additional addresses.
    4. When you are finished, click Submit.

    Pivot-Researcher-Home-Page-image1.jpg

    To create a Group from Share option:

    1. From any Share box you have the option to create a new group, and/or select from your existing groups.
    2. If you do not have any Groups set up, start typing your recipients into the “Recipients” field. Once you have a name in that field, you will see “Save names as new group” appear below it. Click that option and a new field will appear in which you can type in your Group name.
    3. Once you share that opp or search, your new Group will be saved for later use.

    To edit existing Groups:

    1. On the upper right of the page, you will see an arrow next to your name. Click that arrow and select the Groups menu item.

    Administrators can create and manage groups from their Admin menu as well.

    1. You will see all your groups listed, along with three options for each:
    • Copy: This option allows you to copy an existing group and rename the copy group, which will result in two identical groups with different names. The copy option lets you also add additional people to the copy group. Once you create the copy group, you can continue to add recipients from the main Groups page and/or delete recipients.

    After you delete a recipient, you can undo the action for as long as you’re on that page. Once you navigate away from the Groups page, the undo option disappears.

    • Rename: Click this option to rename the original group.
    • Delete: Click this option to completely remove a Group from your list.

    After you delete a group, you can undo the action for as long as you’re on that page. Once you navigate away from the Groups page, the undo option disappears.

    To use existing Groups:

    To use existing Groups:

    1. From any Share box you will see the option to “Select Group” above the “Recipients” field.
    2. Click that option and a box containing your saved Groups will appear.
    3. If you’d like to use an existing group or groups, simply click on the check box to the left of the group name or names and click Add at the bottom. Your group members will be added to the “Recipients” field.
    4. If you have many groups, you can use the search field at the top of the Group listing to easier find the group for which you’re looking.
    5. Use the Clear button at the bottom if you’d like to clear your selections and start over.
    6. Once you have your group or groups in the “Recipients” field, you can save those people in a brand new group, if you wish.

    • Article last edited: 10-Oct-2017
    • Old Article Number: 9999
    • Was this article helpful?