Skip to main content
ExLibris
  • Subscribe by RSS
  • Ex Libris Knowledge Center

    Primo VE - Become an Expert - Fall 2021

    We are excited to invite you to the Primo VE - Become an Expert webinar series. Get the most out of Primo VE! This course will delve into advanced topics including building effective searches, configuration, branding, normalization rules, loading external data sources, CDI, and more. Classes will be relevant for Discovery experts and new users alike. All sessions will be recorded and posted here for those unavailable to attend the live sessions. 

    Register for multiple sessions simultaneously here.
    Session Name Description Session Handouts NA/APAC NA/EMEA

    Introduction
    to Discovery

    This session focuses on how users can conduct effective searches, refine results, and evaluate and access the resources in the results. Also explores other methods available to users for discovery, including the newspaper search, collection discovery, browsing journals by category, and more.

    PPT

    Q&A

     

    Wednesday, September 22nd

    Honolulu 12pm, San Francisco 3pm

    Thursday, September 23rd

    Tokyo 7am, Sydney 8am,

    Recording

    Thursday, September 23rd

     Chicago 9am, New York 10am, London 3pm

    Recording

     

    How Primo
    Works

    This session focuses on the concepts of discovery and delivery, how library collections and e-resources are presented in Primo, and how the user experience can be customized. Also explores what factors
    influence searching for physical and electronic resources, and how results are ranked using Primo’s relevancy ranking algorithms.

    PPT

    Q&A

    Wednesday, September 29th

    Honolulu 12pm, San Francisco 3pm

    Thursday, September 30th

    Tokyo 7am, Sydney 8am,

    Recording

    Thursday, September 30th

     Chicago 9am, New York 10am, London 3pm

    Recording

     

    Search
    Configuration

    This session focuses on search configuration in Primo. These
    configurations include setting up the search scopes, profiles and slots, configuring basic and advanced searches, and configuring ranking for both local and blended searches. We’ll also take a look at
    how to set up restricted user groups and restricted search groups.

    PPT

    Q&A

    Wednesday, October 6th

    Honolulu 12pm, San Francisco 3pm

    Thursday, October 7th

    Tokyo 7am, Sydney 9am,

    Recording

    Thursday, October 7th

     Chicago 9am, New York 10am, London 3pm

    Recording

    Search
    Interfaces

    This session focuses on how to configure optional features in Primo, including various search interfaces and a few features that can be used to enhance the search results.

    PPT

    Q&A

     

    Wednesday, October 13th

    Honolulu 12pm, San Francisco 3pm

    Thursday, October 14th

    Tokyo 7am, Sydney 9am,

    Recording

    Thursday, October 14th

     Chicago 9am, New York 10am, London 3pm

    Recording

     

    Branding,
    CSS, HTML

    This session focuses on how to brand the Primo environment with your institutions logos and colors, and how to effectively edit and maintain the CSS and HTML files. Includes how to use Primo Studio, and the Customization Package Manager, and provides resources for using the Primo-explore dev environment.

    PPT

     

     

    Wednesday, October 20th

    Honolulu 12pm, San Francisco 3pm

    Thursday, October 21st

    Tokyo 7am, Sydney 9am,

    Recording

    Thursday, October 21st

     Chicago 9am, New York 10am, London 3pm

    Recording

     

    Display

    This session focuses on how to customize aspects of the display in Primo, including the brief and full display of records, the text that appears in the interface, sort and facet configuration, the related records display, and library card account configuration.

    PPT

     

     

    Wednesday, October 27th

    Honolulu 12pm, San Francisco 3pm

    Thursday, October 28th

    Tokyo 7am, Sydney 9am,

    Register

    Recording

    Thursday, October 28th

     Chicago 9am, New York 10am, London 3pm

    Register

    Recording

    Delivery

    This session focuses on how delivery is configured for both physical and electronic resources. Includes requests configuration as well as how delivery options display in the full record.

    PPT

     

    Wednesday, November 3rd

    Honolulu 12pm, San Francisco 3pm

    Thursday, November 4th

    Tokyo 7am, Sydney 9am,

    Register

    Recording

    Thursday, November 4th

     Chicago 9am, New York 10am, London 2pm

    Register

    Recording

    Local Data

    This session focuses on how to manage display and local fields, how to configure normalization rules for fields used in the display, search and facets areas, and how to configure local resource types.

    PPT

     

    Wednesday, November 10th

    Honolulu 1pm, San Francisco 3pm

    Thursday, November 11th

    Tokyo 8am, Sydney 10am,

    Register

    Recording

    Thursday, November 11th

     Chicago 9am, New York 10am, London 3pm

    Register

    Recording

    Central
    Discovery
    Index

    This session focuses on how Alma, Primo, and CDI operate with each other, how to activate collections in CDI and how to troubleshoot and resolve issues with electronic resources from CDI.

    PPT

     

    Wednesday, November 17th

    Honolulu 1pm, San Francisco 3pm

    Thursday, November 18th

    Tokyo 8am, Sydney 10am,

    Register

    Recording

    Thursday, November 18th

     Chicago 9am, New York 10am, London 3pm

    Register

    Recording

    External Data
    Sources

    This session explores the process of loading records from external sources into Primo (for customers without Alma Digital).

    PPT

     

    Wednesday, December 1st

    Honolulu 1pm, San Francisco 3pm

    Thursday, December 2nd

    Tokyo 8am, Sydney 10am,

    Register

    Recording

    Thursday, December 2nd

     Chicago 9am, New York 10am, London 3pm

    Register

    Recording

    Deduplication
    and FRBR

    This session examines the concepts and fundamentals of the Deduplication and FRBR processes in Primo.

    PPT

     

     

    Wednesday, December 8th

    Honolulu 1pm, San Francisco 3pm

    Thursday, December 9th

    Tokyo 8am, Sydney 10am,

    Register

    Recording

    Thursday, December 9th

     Chicago 9am, New York 10am, London 3pm

    Register

    Recording

    Primo
    Analytics

    This session explores the concepts and fundamentals of reporting and statistics in Primo.

    PPT

     

     

    Wednesday, December 15th

    Honolulu 1pm, San Francisco 3pm

    Thursday, December 16th

    Tokyo 8am, Sydney 10am,

    Register

    Recording

    Thursday, December 16th

     Chicago 9am, New York 10am, London 3pm

    Register

    Recording

     

    • Was this article helpful?