Skip to main content
  • Subscribe by RSS
  • Ex Libris Knowledge Center

    What is the start/stop order for Tomcat?

    • Article Type: General
    • Product: Voyager
    • Product Version: 7.0.1


    What is the start/stop order for tomcat processes?


    In Voyager 8.0 and higher, all services can be started and stopped with one command:

    Start: /m1/voyager/xxxdb/tomcat/tsvrctl start

    Stop: /m1/voyager/xxxdb/tomcat/tsvrctl stop


    For older versions with individual start/stop scripts for each service:

    • Stop processes in following order; many sites use only vwebv and vxws and should skip the stop commands for vprimo and vpds below. Wait 5-10 seconds between each command to allow previous process to fully stop before stopping the next.

    /m1/voyager/xxxdb/tomcat/vwebv/tsvrctl stop

    /m1/voyager/xxxdb/tomcat/vprimo/tsvrctl stop

    /m1/voyager/xxxdb/tomcat/vpds/tsvrctl stop

    /m1/voyager/xxxdb/tomcat/vxws/tsvrctl stop

    • Start processes in the following order, again skipping any processes not normally in use, again waiting to ensure each process comes up before the next is started:

    /m1/voyager/xxxdb/tomcat/vpds/tsvrctl start

    /m1/voyager/xxxdb/tomcat/vprimo/tsvrctl start

    /m1/voyager/xxxdb/tomcat/vxws/tsvrctl start

    /m1/voyager/xxxdb/tomcat/vwebv/tsvrctl start

    • On newer Solaris 10 installs, there is an SMF service that does the same thing. For your xxxdb, run the following command:

    svcadm restart svc:/site/ExLibris/Voyager/xxxdb/Pwebvoyage:default


    Article last edited: 23-May-2017

    • Was this article helpful?