Skip to main content
ExLibris
  • Subscribe by RSS
  • Ex Libris Knowledge Center

    Clearing the Privacy Consent screen in RefWorks

    • Product: RefWorks
    • Product Version: new RefWorks, legacy RefWorks

    How do I clear the privacy consent screen from RefWorks?

    Normally a user can clear the ProQuest privacy screens by consenting to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy statements. However, there can be circumstances when the user sees an error:

    Submit error

     

    If your RefWorks screen displays the above error, try the following to clear it:

    1.    If you usually access RefWorks via a proxy (the url may look like: https://login.<your library>.oclc.org/login?qurl=https%3a%2f%2frefworks.proquest.com%2fsignup%2finstitutionalSignup%2f) try going to RefWorks directly:

    https://refworks.proquest.com (new) or     

    https://refworks.com (legacy)

    2.    Browser plugins and cached data can sometimes interfere with the consent screen, try accessing RefWorks in your browser's private or incognito mode to accept the privacy consent. Once you've consented to the ProQuest Privacy Policy and Terms of Use, you can return to your usual browser mode. 

                      

    Firefox Private Window

    FFPrivate.png   

     

    Chrome Incognito Window

     Chromeprivate.png 

     

    Internet Explorer Private Browsing

     IEPrivate.png

     

    3.  Log out of the RefWorks writing tool add-ins (Write-N-Cite, RefWorks Citation Manager, and GoogleDocs plugin)

     

    Write-N-Cite

    logoutWNC.png

     
     
    RefWorks Citation Manager

    logoutWNC.png

     
     
    GoogleDocs plugin

    GoogleDocslogout.png

     

    If the error message still appears on your browser, report it to refworks.support@exlibrisgroup.com.

     


    • Article last edited: 15-June-2018
    • Was this article helpful?
    //Feedback