Skip to main content
ExLibris
  • Subscribe by RSS
  • Ex Libris Knowledge Center

    Cart Template Management

    All Rialto roles can create and manage cart templates.

    You can create and apply customized templates to the items in your shopping cart. Customized templates hold a set of predefined values for the fields in the Cart page, so that a single template can be applied instead of applying values for every field, thus saving you time and effort. You can choose to apply a template to a specific cart item, or to the entire cart.

    You can create private templates for your personal use, or share templates to be used by others in your institution. 

    For instructions on how to apply the template to the cart, see Filling In the Cart Options

    For more information, see Templates.

    You can create and manage the cart templates on the Manage Templates page (Market > Orders > Manage Cart Templates).

    Cart templates main page.png

    All the selections made on this page are saved automatically. 

    To create a cart template:
    1. On the Manage Templates page (Market > Orders >  Manage Cart Templates), click Add Template
      Rialto creates a new template, which appears as a new line in the Manage Templates page. 

    2. Double-click the template. 
      The template options open in a right-side pane.
      Create cart template - new page .jpg

    3. Modify the name of the template. Try to provide a name that would describe the situations in which this specific template should be applied to the cart. Each template must have a unique name.

    4. Select Share Template in Your Institution, if this is an institution-level template that you want to share with other users. The next time other users open Rialto, they will see this template in their Manage Templates page and will be able to apply it to carts. If you don't select this option, only you will have access to this template. 
      Other users cannot edit a shared template, but they can disable it on their own Manage Templates page. See Filling in the Cart Options
      Once the template is applied to the cart, it makes no difference if it was a shared or private template.  

    5. Select Override existing cart values when applying a template, if you want the blank values in a template to override the existing cart values. If you do not select it, then in case of blank values, the pre-existing values in the cart are left as is. This helps you make sure that information from Selection staff is not lost after applying a template.

    6. Fill in the rest of the fields as per the Cart Options table.  

    7. Click anywhere outside of the panel to save your changes. The Saved notification appears for 10 seconds on the top-left corner of the template and then disappears. 
      Save template icon.jpg

    8. In the list of templates, toggle the template On to activate it. Only activated templates can be applied to carts.
      The template can be activated only when the mandatory fields "Name" and "Ordering Library" have been filled in. Otherwise, the template will not be activated and the template mandatory fields not filled in icon.jpg icon will appear by the template name. Open the template to see what fields were not filled in.   

    Deleting a Private Template

    Deleting a template has no effect on the carts to which this template was already applied - the selections made in these carts remain as they were. 

    Users can delete only their private templates. If a template was shared with a user, the user cannot delete or edit it, but can disable it (see Filling in the Cart Options). Disabled templates are not visible to users when they apply templates to cart. 

    To delete a template:
    1. On the Manage Templates page (Market > Orders >  Manage Cart Templates), select Remove in the row list actions. 
    • Was this article helpful?