Skip to main content
ExLibris
  • Subscribe by RSS
  • Ex Libris Knowledge Center

    Summon: Saving Searches

    • Product: Summon

    Does Summon let users save searches between sessions?

    Yes, but users must first sign in to either a Google Drive or Microsoft OneDrive account to save their searches to the cloud. For configuration information, see Advanced Search Settings.

    Selecting the Sign Out option from within Summon disconnects the cloud drive from Summon, but it does not sign you out of your Google or Microsoft account. If you are on a public computer, it is recommended that you access your Google and Microsoft accounts and make sure that you are signed out.

     

    Summon_SavedSearches_SignOut.png

    Saving Search Queries

    Summon allows users to save searches that need to be run frequently or need to be saved to continue research in the same or future session. Users must sign in to their Google or Microsoft account to save searches for future sessions in their cloud drives (Google Drive or Microsoft OneDrive). Otherwise, searches are stored only for the current session.

    Saving Searches Temporarily for a Session

    Summon permits users who have not signed in to save searches temporarily for their current session.

    To save a search:
    1. Enter a search query in the search box to display the Save Search icon.

      Summon_SaveSearchIcon.png

      Save Search Icon
    2. Select the Save Search icon.

    3. Specify a name for your saved search. Otherwise, the name defaults to the search query.

      SummonSavedSearchName1.png

      Name Your Search Query
    4. Click Done.

    Saving Searches Between Sessions

    Summon permits users who have signed on to their Google or Microsoft accounts to save searches to their cloud drives (Google Drive or Microsoft OneDrive) so that users can run them in future sessions. Searches saved in the current session will be moved automatically to the user's cloud drive if the user decides to sign in to a Google or Microsoft account later in the session.

    • Before you can save searches between sessions in Summon, you must first create a Google or Microsoft account and then sign in to your account from Summon.

    • When ending a session on a public computer, it is recommended that you access your Google and Microsoft accounts and make sure that you are signed out.

    • Access to your cloud drive will expire after an hour. After expiration, you will need to sign in to your cloud drive during the next save.

    • Saved session data can be managed and viewed within Summon only.

    To save a search:
    1. Enter a search query in the search box to display the Save Search icon.

      Summon_SaveSearchIcon.png

      Save Search Icon
    2. Select the Save Search icon.

    3. Sign on to your Google Drive or Microsoft OneDrive account if you have not already done so.

      SummonSavedSearch_SignInToCloudDrive.png

      Sign on to Google Account
    4. Specify a name for your saved search. Otherwise, the name defaults to the search query.

    5. Select Done.

    Viewing Saved Searches

    The Saved Search page allows you to view a list of your saved searches. If you are not logged on to your Google or Microsoft account, you will see searches that are saved only to your current session.

    Summon_SavedSearches_Permanently1.png

    Saved Search Page (Signed-In)

    When performing searches on a public computer, it is recommended that you log off of your Google or Microsoft account when you are done with your session.

    To view a saved search:
    1. Click the Saved Search icon. The number of saved searches appears next to the Saved Search icon.

      Summon_SavedSearchesIcon.png

      Saved Search Icon
    2. If you want to see searches that you saved during previous sessions, you must log on to your Google or Microsoft account.

      Summon_SavedSearches_SignIn2.png

      Sign in to Cloud Drive

      After logging on to your Google or Microsoft account, all searches saved to your current session are moved to your Google or Microsoft account and are no longer accessible if you log out from Google or Microsoft and continue with your current session.

    3. From the Saved Search page, you can perform the following actions:

      • Click the name of the saved search to display its search results.

      • Click Rename to rename the the saved search.

      • Click the Summon_RemoveSavedSearchIcon.png icon to remove the saved search.

    • Was this article helpful?