Skip to main content
ExLibris
  • Subscribe by RSS
  • Ex Libris Knowledge Center

    Pickup location changes when changing between title-level or copy-level

    • Article Type: General
    • Product: Voyager
    • Product Version: 8.1.2

    Description:
    Bug Report Form for Issue 16384-11969

    Module(s): WebVoyage
    Server platform(s) affected: Solaris/all
    PC OS (if applicable): n/a
    Browser & version (if applicable): FF and IE
    Release(s): reported in 7.1.0; replicated in 7.2.2
    Loss of functionality from (previous version, if applicable): Classic

    Expected results: When accessing a hold form, switching between the Any Copy and This Copy options shouldn’t impact the pickup location.

    Actual results:
    When you switch from This Copy to Any Copy, the pickup location supplied on the form switches from either the default (if you haven’t selected anything else yet) or your selected location (if you’ve already chosen a pickup location) to whichever default pickup location falls first alphabetically.

    Workflow implications: Confusing for patrons who may not realize the pickup location has changed.

    Replication steps:
    Log into WebVoyage and search for a requestable title.
    Click Make a Request and select the Hold or Recall (if the title is charged) form.
    Note that when it initially displays, This Copy is selected and the pickup location is the default defined in SA>Circulation>Cluster Maintenance>Default Pickup Location.
    Select the Any Copy radio button instead – you’ll see that the pickup location switches to whichever pickup location falls first alphabetically.
    Select a different pickup location (can be the default or any other than that from the previous step) and then re-select This Copy – you’ll see that the pickup location resets to the first pickup location.

    Other information: This does *not* happen in Classic WebVoyage.

    Resolution:
    Fixed in Voyager 8.1.2.


    • Article last edited: 3/18/2015