Skip to main content
ExLibris
  • Subscribe by RSS
  • Ex Libris Knowledge Center

    Sending Notifications to End-Users

    Overview

    This overview provides information on the various end-user notification options.

    Library Mobile enables institutions to send alerts to their end-users. These are delivered as push notifications for the native iOS/Android apps and in app alerts on the web app/portal.

    The end-user receives a push notification on their device. Tapping on the push notification takes the end-user to the list of alerts. New and unread alerts are highlighted at the beginning of the list.

    When the end-user taps on one of the notifications, the full notification details display.

    End-users can delete notifications they have viewed using the Delete icons, or they can choose to retain the notifications and return to the list of notifications. Notifications can be accessed at any point from the main menu on the native device or the alerts tile in the web app.

    Notification Center App.png
    Notification App

    To watch a video (1:23) with more information on engaging students through push notifications, select the image below.

    engaging students.jpg

    The Notification Center

    The Notification Center in App Manager (Notifications) enables app administrators to send notifications to one or more end-users. Targeted information can be sent to specific end-users by creating a notification group. End-users may automatically be subscribed to notification groups based on their app roles or they may be able to select which notifications they receive by subscribing to or unsubscribing from notification groups. See: Sending Notifications to End-Users from the Notification Center.

    The Notification Center dashboard displays the number of notifications sent in the last month alongside the percentage of end-users that have read the notifications.

    The last day's worth of notifications display. Use the filters or search function to locate and display notifications sent previously.

    Notification Center showing information about messages sent on a specified day.

    Notification Center

    Sending a New Notification

    You can create a new message to send to one or more individual end-users or to a group of end-users. The notification can either be sent immediately or scheduled to be sent at a later time.

    To create and send a new notification:
    1. Under Notification actions, select either Send Individual Notification or Send Group Notification. A blank notification form opens.
      New Group Notification.png
       
    2. Select the recipients.
    3. Enter a title (plain text only).
    4. Under Message, enter the text of the message. Use the controls at the top of the Message area to format the text, and add links and images as required.
    5. To schedule the notification to be sent at a later time, clear the Send now checkbox. A Send at field is added to the form. Select the date and time at which the notification should be sent. 
    6. Under Expire on, select the date on which the notification should be deleted from all recipients' devices and apps.
    7. Select Send. The notification is sent, either immediately or at the scheduled time, depending on the settings you chose.

    Managing Notifications

    Notifications that have already been sent can be resent, either to all the original recipients, to those who have already read the original notification, or to those who have not yet read the original notification. You can also make a duplicate of a notification that has already been sent, in order to modify it and send it as a new notification, or delete it. If you delete a notification that has already been sent, it is removed from all the original recipients' devices and apps, whether they have already read it or not.

    Notifications that have been scheduled to be sent at a later time, and have not yet been sent, can be deleted, but they cannot be modified or duplicated.

    To manage a notification that has already been sent:
    • In the list of notifications, select the notification's Notification Title. The notification opens for resending, duplicating, or deleting.

      Manage Notification.png

    BCC Notifications

    A useful way to send notifications from Library Mobile is the BCC method. Once set up, it is simply a matter of sending an email, adding your organization's alerts address (see below) to the Blind Carbon Copy (BCC) field. The email is then converted to a notification and sent to Library Mobile users' mobile devices, displaying on the lock screen of Apple and Android devices. The email is sent as usual with the addition of the notification. See the article on How to Send BCC Notifications.

    Send Alerts/Push Notifications API

    The Library Mobile Send Alerts/Push Notifications API enables institutions to send alerts to their users. Use the API to send alerts to an individual user, multiple users, or a notification group.

    For more information on the Send Alerts/Push Notifications API see Send Alerts Push Notifications.

    • Was this article helpful?