Skip to main content
ExLibris
  • Subscribe by RSS
  • Ex Libris Knowledge Center

    Working with Lists

    The following roles are required to work with lists:

    • Create, edit, share, and delete lists: Purchasing Operator, Super Selector, Selector 
    • Add offers to lists and create lists from offers: Purchasing Operator, Super Selector, Selector 
    • View all offers in a list: Purchasing Operator, Super Selector, Selector 
    • Add offers from the list to the virtual shopping cart: Rialto Manager, Purchasing Operator, Super Selector, Selector

    Each user creates and views his or her own private lists. If desired, users can share their lists with other users of the institution, in which case the list becomes a collaborative list that all users can view, add offers to, and remove offers from, as well as manage the list users.

    For more information, see List Guide.

    You can manage your lists from the My Lists page (Market > My Lists > My Lists). 

    My lists page.jpg

    My Lists page
    Managing lists includes:

    Creating Lists

    To create a list from the List Management page:

    1. On the My Lists page (Market > My Lists > My Lists), select Create New List.  The List Name Placeholder page opens.
    2. On the right-hand side, enter the name and description for your list and click Save to save your changes. You are returned to the My Lists page. 

    To create a list from an offer:

    1. From the search results or the recommendation feed (or any other page), select the offer you want to add to the list, and select Add to List in the row actions list.

    2. Select Create New List at the bottom of the dropdown. 
      creating a new list from offer list.PNG

    3. Provide the name for the new list and click Add
      The offer is added to the list, and the "In your lists" badge appears on the offer.  

    Adding Offers to a List 

    You can add a single offer to several lists.

    To add an offer to a list:

    1. From the search results or the recommendation feed, select the offers you want to add to the list, and select Add to List in the row actions list. Then select the list to which to add the offer.

    2. Once done, the "In your lists" badge appears by the offer and also by the work. (The badge on the work is the same whether it is a single offer included in several lists, or several offers each included in a different list). To see the lists in which the offer is included, hover over the badge.

      in your list indication .png
      "In your lists" badge on a work
    3. To add the same offer to another list, repeat the above steps, select Add to List and select the other list.

    4. Optionally, you can leave leave comments on individual offers, to record why you modified the list and have better communication with other list members. You can reply to others' comments, modify and delete your comments, and also see who left the comment and when. Comments will appear within the Offer Details panel.

      Note that the comments are a feature of lists only, and they do not appear on the item where it appears elsewhere, such as in the cart, feeds, etc. 

    5. To return to the search results or the recommendation feed, select the back arrow icon.png Back arrow at the top of the list. 

     

    Sharing Lists with Other Users

    Now users can share their lists with other selected staff, so that they can have awareness of items in each other's lists, or can collaborate on area-overlapping offers to be purchased. All list members can see, add to, and remove offers from the shared list, as well as add and remove list members.  

    Once a list has been shared, all list members will see the shared list in their My Lists page with the 'Shared' visibility:

    My lists page with shared list indicated.jpg

    To share a list:
    1. On the My Lists page (Market > My Lists > My Lists), select the desired list, and select Edit in the row actions list. The List page opens.
    2. Expand the List right-hand panel to see its information.
    3. To share the list, click Add User. To find the desired user, type the sign '@' and then the two first characters of the user's name. Rialto will display all relevant users in the system. 
      shared list right panel.jpg

    List Actions

    Editing lists includes modifying name and description, adding offers to another list, moving offers between lists, and removing offers from lists. 

    In a shared list, all changes made by one user are immediately shared with the other list collaborators. 

    To work with lists:

    1. On the My Lists page (Market > My Lists > My Lists), select the list you want to edit. The list page opens. The page displays the name and description of the list, and the offers associated with it.
    2. You can do the following on the page:
    To: Do:
    Modify name and description

    Modify the name and description. Then click elsewhere on the page to save your changes. 

    Add offer to another list
    • Select the relevant offer, then select Add to List in the row actions list and select the list. 

    Rialto adds the offer to the other list. Open the other list to see this offer there, as well as in the current list. 

    Move offers between lists
    • Select the relevant offer, then select Move to List in the row actions list and select the list. 

    Rialto removes the offer from the current list and adds it to the other list. Open the other list to see the offer there. 

    If you still see the offer in the current list, refresh the screen. 

    Sort and filter offers within the list

    If your list is long, you can do the following: 

    • Filter the list by author, ISBN, title, or keywords. 
    • To save time while identifying preferred materials, sort the list by publication year or price. 
      OR, sort by the ranking profiles defined in your system instead of by publication year and price.

      This sorting ability is disabled by default. To enable it for your institution, contact Ex Libris Customer Support.

    • Narrow down the list by using the Facets panel on the left side of the page. For details, see Working with Facets.

      The display of facet values is dynamic and reflects only the values that belong to offers available in the list. For example, if you do not see a certain value in your facets list, this means that you do not have offers with this value in your list. 

    Remove offers from list
    • Select the relevant offer, then select Remove from List in the row actions list. 

    Rialto removes the offer from the list.  

    Adding Offers from List to the Shopping Cart

    Once you selected the offers of the work that you are interested in, you can place them in the virtual shopping cart. You can accumulate many offers in the shopping cart, and then check out all of them in one action.

    Checking out the offer does not automatically remove it from the list. Remove such offers from the list manually to avoid multiple purchases of the same title. 

    To add offers to the shopping cart:

    1. From the My Lists page (Market > My Lists > My Lists), select the offers you want to purchase.

    2. Once you selected the offer, select Add to Cart in the row actions list. 

      Upon clicking Add to Cart, the title receives the "In your cart" badge. In addition, a confirmation appears in the upper-right corner of your Alma window, and a count indicator on your cart displays the total count of items currently in your cart.

    3. Repeat this for as many offers as you need to add to cart. 

    4. When you are ready to proceed to checkout, select the cart icon.png Cart icon to open the cart. The cart opens with the titles accumulated in it so far.  

    5. To proceed to checkout and purchasing of the offers, see Adding to Shopping Lists and Checking Out Orders.

    Deleting Lists

    The number of lists can easily get too long. To make it easier to use them, you can remove the unneeded and unused lists.

    You can delete a list that contains offers; this just means that Rialto removes the list's tag from the offers in your search results or recommendation feeds. You can delete lists one at a time.

    In a shared list, when one of the list members deletes a list, it is deleted only for that member. The other list members continue to use the list. The list is only truly deleted when the final user deletes it.

    To delete a list:
    • On My Lists page (Market > My Lists > My Lists), select Remove in the row actions list. The list is deleted. The tag with the list's name is removed from all offers that were tagged with it.

    • Was this article helpful?