Skip to main content
ExLibris
Ex Libris Knowledge Center

Can courses be bulk deleted in Alma?

  • Product: Alma

Question

Can courses be bulk deleted in Alma?

Answer

Courses can be bulk deleted in Alma using the Course Loading Integration. Follow the steps below:

 

Set up a Course Loading Integration*

  1. Go to Configuration > General > (External Systems) > Integration Profiles
  2. Add a new profile of type Course Loading.
  3. Follow the Course Loading Configuration documentation to complete set-up.

*Note that you must have an S/FTP server with a dedicated subdirectory set up in order to use the Course Loading integration.  See: Configuring S/FTP Connections.

Export courses and prepare file

  1. Go to Fulfillment > Courses > Export button > Excel (with fields)
  2. Open the file in Excel. Change column headers and order of columns to match documentation on the Course Loading page.
    • Add any column headers/columns that do not exist. It is okay for the columns to be empty.
    • Be sure to add the OPERATION column header/column and delete existing Status column header/column
  3. To delete courses: Enter DELETE in the OPERATION column for any courses that need to be deleted. To retain courses, leave the OPERATION field blank.
  4. Save as .txt (tab delimited)
  5. Upload the file to the FTP server subdirectory as defined in the Course Loading Profile.

 

Run Job

  1. Go to Configuration > General > (External Systems) Integration Profiles >  Course Loading Profile
  2. Edit > Actions > Run

Article last edited: 26-Mar-2020