Skip to main content
  • Subscribe by RSS
  • Ex Libris Knowledge Center

    Dewey Classification

    Books can be classified with Dewey Classification. In Dewey Classification, topics are ordered in a hierarchy that is indicated by a three digit number. The highest level of the hierarchy is indicated by a number with one significant digit followed by two zeros, such as 600. The second level in the hierarchy is indicated by a number with two significant digits followed by one zero, such as 630. The third level in the hierarchy is indicated by a number with three significant digits such as 636.
    For example:
    • 600 Technology
      • 630 Agriculture and related technologies
      • 636 Animal husbandry
    This is displayed in Alma Analytics as follows:
    Dewey Classification
    Each level is referred to by a numbered group (Group1, Group2, and Group3).
    Using this dimension, the user may drill down from Group1 to Group3. In each level, the user may see measures accumulated to the relevant group.
    Alma takes Dewey Classification information from the holdings level.
    Dewey Classifications
    Field Description Additional information
    Dewey Number Holds the first 3 digits of the Dewey Classification.
    The Dewey Number comes from the bibliographic record, except for in the Physical Items subject area where it comes from the holdings record.
    Group1 Stores the name of the first level.  
    Group2 Stores the name of the second level.  
    Group3 Stores the name of the third level.  
    Dewey Classifications Stores the Hierarchy column that allows the user to drill down from the first level of the Dewey Classification to the third level. Using this column provides the user with the option to view the accumulative measures (loans or returns) in each level of the hierarchy.  
    • Was this article helpful?