Write-N-Cite to RefWorks Citation Manager Migration
Refworks users who work with Write-N-Cite (WnC) will be asked to upgrade to RefWorks Citation Manager (RCM). This process will involve deciding if documents need to be completed before upgrading, or if those documents should be migrated to RCM, allowing work to continue.
WnC users will install RCM via the Microsoft (MS) Office Store in MS Word. Once installed and the account is accessed, and the WnC document is opened, an automated process will begin the upgrade.
The upgrade process will convert the in-text citations, footnotes, endnotes, and bibliography of a WnC document into the equivalent RCM document. Users should save the new version of their document with a unique filename.
Users who are ready to proceed with an upgrade should first save a copy of the document in MS Word.
Once a document is upgraded from WnC to RCM, it cannot be edited using WNC.
If the document is edited by multiple users, all must have access to RCM.
The WnC to RCM migration is unavailable in Word Online.
Errors that may be Encountered During the Upgrade Process
Login or Credentials Errors
User must log into WnC and RCM with the same RefWorks account credentials. If logged into WnC and RCM with different login credentials, or with old legacy RefWorks credentials, an error message will notify the user how to proceed.
Bibliography Only Error
The upgrade process will stop when a document contains bibliography only references. When the document contains bibliography only references the process may be continued, but the bibliography only references will be lost.
Missing References Error
The upgrade process will stop when a document contains references which are not saved in RefWorks. All references in the document must be saved in RefWorks to be recognized and saved in the document.
Process Interrupted Error
You will be notified if the process is interrupted. Please, check your connection and try again. If the problem persists, contact Technical Support.
When all WnC to RCM upgrade criteria are met, you will be notified that your document is being upgraded, followed by a success message.