Skip to main content
ExLibris
  • Subscribe by RSS
  • Ex Libris Knowledge Center

    Sending Notifications to End-Users

    You can send notifications to one or more end-users. You can also send specific types of notifications by creating a notification group and sending notifications to the end-users in this group. End-users can select notifications to receive by adding themselves to, or removing themselves from, specific types of notifications in the app; this adds them to, or removes them from, the notification group. For more information, see End-User Communication and Configuring Notification Groups.

    Sending Notifications to Individual End-Users

    You send notifications to a manually selected list of end-users on the Individual Notification page (Notifications > Notification Actions > Send Individual Notification). Since these notifications are not sent to a notification group, all specified end-users see the notification unless they have turned off all notifications.
    individual_notification.png
    Send Individual Notification Page
    To send a notification to a manually selected list of end-users:
    1. On the Individual Notification page, configure the following fields:
      • Recipients – Search for the end-users to which to send the notification. Select all matching recipients or select them one by one (see the on-screen text for instruction).
      • Title – Enter a subject for the notification.
      • Message – Enter the notification text. To edit the text, see Working with the Text Editor. You can create a personalized message using one or more of the following codes in the message:
        • {FIRSTNAME} – The end-user's first name. For anonymous users, this code resolves to User.
        • {LASTNAME} – The end-user's last name. For anonymous users, this code resolves to Name.
        • {EMAIL} – The end-user's email address. If an end-user's email address is not defined, this code resolves to an empty string.
      • Select when to send the notification:
        • Leave Send now to send the notification immediately after selecting Send.
        • If you clear Send now, select the date and time to send the notification.
      • Select when you want the notification to expire from the Expire on field. The notification will no longer be visible to end-users on the date you select. (Default and maximum are 90 days.)
      • Select Submit to send the notification. You may have to confirm the notification if sending to more than one end-user.

    Sending Notifications to a Group

    You send notifications to a pre-configured group of end-users on the Group Notification page (Notifications > Notification Actions > Send Group Notification). This page is the same as the Individual Notification page except that you select a pre-configured notification group instead of selecting recipients one-by-one. In addition, end-users who have turned off the type of notification corresponding to the notification group do not receive the notification. The notification group ALL includes all end-users; all end-users are automatically added to this group when they register.
    individual_notification.png
    Send Group Notification Page

    Viewing Sent Notifications

    You can view sent notifications on the Notification Center page (Notifications).

    notification_center_dashboard.png

    Notification Center

    This page displays:

    • Number of notification messages sent in the last 30 days
    • Percentage of notification messages with which end-users engaged in the last 30 days
    • Notifications scheduled to be sent on some future date, sent on a specific date, or matching a search string, in the last 30 days, as well as the number or recipients, how many of these read the notification, and the percentage of read/recipients (Engage).

    Resending Notifications

    You can resend a sent notification.
    To resend a notification:
    1. Click anywhere in a notification in the Notification Center. The Resend Notification page appears:
      resend_notification.png
      Resend Notification
    2. Edit the message details, if desired.
    3. Select a button to resend the notification:
      • Send to All – the notification is resent to all recipients of the original notification.
      • Send to Read – the notification is resent to only those recipients that read the original notification.
      • Send to unread – the notification is sent to only those recipients that did not read the original notification.

    Deleting Notifications

    You can delete future notifications, so that they are not sent.
    To delete a future notification, select the notification. A confirmation message appears. Click OK to delete the notification.
    • Was this article helpful?