Skip to main content
ExLibris
  • Subscribe by RSS
  • Ex Libris Knowledge Center

    Can limited user roles delete brief Course Reserve records?

    • Article Type: General
    • Product: Alma

    Desired Outcome Goal:
    Need a limited user privilege or role that will allow staff to delete brief records created for Course Reserves, but not full bibliographic records.

    The privilege to delete a bibliographic record now resides only in the Cataloger Extended role.

    Procedure:
    Instead of enabling a limited role for this purpose, suppress or auto-delete bib records based on the "course_restricted_bib_date_will_be_deleted" functionality.

    The "course_restricted_bib_date_will_be_deleted parameter" is found in:
    Resource Management > Resource Configuration > Configuration Menu > General > Other Settings

    It indicates if the published course data will be deleted (true) or suppressed (false, which is the default) from Primo when the course becomes inactive.

    Additional Information

    Please note that the following features are planned for 2015:

    When a course restricted reading list citation is created using the 'Catalog Brief' option, the system will retain an internal link between the citation and the MMS record it has created, so that:

    * When the reserves staff uses the Edit action it will also affect the repository record (provided it is not linked to another course)
    * When the reserves staff uses the Remove action also it will remove the repository record (provided it is not linked to another course)

    [Posted to Alma-L on Aug. 21, 2014]

    Category: Course Reserves - Alma

    Subject: Roles/Privileges - Alma


    • Article last edited: 8/30/2014