Skip to main content
ExLibris
  • Subscribe by RSS
  • Ex Libris Knowledge Center

    Cataloging Privileges

    Translatable
    Contact Ex Libris to enable cataloging privileges for your institution.
    Without enabling cataloging privileges, every cataloger with the appropriate roles can edit bibliographic and authority records. Cataloging privileges gives you the option to define a hierarchy for better control of the privilege to edit bibliographic and authority records. This functionality is handled through cataloging level code assignments in Resource Management.
    When implementing a Network Zone, an administrator in the Network Zone can manage the cataloging level code assignments centrally and distribute these assignments to all the member institutions. For more information, see Centrally Managing Configurations in a Network Zone.
    When enabled, the following areas that deal with bibliographic and/or authority records are enhanced with this control of your records:
    • MD Editor
    • Metadata import (new records are imported with the lowest level)
    • Quick cataloging
    • Normalization/set management (batch job assignment of a code level to a set of records)
    For institutions working with externally managed records, see Configuring Cataloging Levels for Contribution to Externally Managed Authorities.

    Creating Cataloging Permission Levels

    Use the following procedure to create cataloging permission levels.
    To create cataloging permission levels:
    1. Ensure that the Ex Libris staff has enabled cataloging permissions for your institution/consortium.
    2. On the Cataloger Permission Level code table (Configuration Menu > Resources > Cataloging > Cataloger Permission Level), select Add Row to add levels.
      Cataloger_Permissions_Level_Code_Table_NewUI_04_TC.png
      Cataloger Permissions Level Code Table
    3. When you are done, select Customize.
      In a collaborative network, after the Network Zone administrator has completed entering the cataloging permission levels, the changes can be distributed to the member institutions by selecting Manage Table in Network and Save and Distribute. This submits a job to distribute these settings to the member institutions. In a member institution, these distributed settings appear where the cataloging levels are used such as the MD Editor (see Using Cataloging Permission Levels in the MD Editor) and user management (see Assigning Cataloging Permission Levels). Note that for an institution that is a member of a Network Zone, cataloging permission levels can only be enabled in the Network Zone.
      Manage_Table_in_Network_NewUI_04_TC.png
      Save_and_Distribute_Cataloging_Permission_Levels_NewUI_04_TC.png
      Save and Distribute Cataloging Permission Levels
    If an institution implements cataloging privileges and then, subsequently, becomes a member of a Network Zone, the Network Zone is not able to Save and Distribute to that member.

    Assigning Cataloging Permission Levels

    After you have defined your cataloging permission levels, the appropriate permission level can be assigned to users.
    To assign cataloging permission levels:
    1. Access the user records that you want to update (Admin > User Management > Manage Users).
    2. Select Edit from the row actions for the user record that you want to update. The User Details page appears.
      Assign_Cataloging_Level_to_a_User_NewUI_02_TC.png
      Assign Cataloging Level to a User
    3. Select the level is Cataloger Level.
    4. Select Save.

    Using Cataloging Permission Levels in the MD Editor

    Once you have defined cataloging permission levels and assigned them to users, these characteristics appear in the MD Editor while users edit records.
    To work with records in the MD Editor when cataloging permission levels have been implemented:
    1. Open a bibliographic record in the MD Editor (Resources > Cataloging > Open Metadata Editor).
      Cataloging_Permission_Levels_in_the_MD_Editor_NewUI_02_TC.png
      Cataloging Permission Levels in the MD Editor
      The MD Editor displays the current cataloging level. Any user assigned an equal or higher value cataloging level can edit the record. In addition, the MD Editor provides the option to change the cataloging level for the record. Any cataloging level equal to or below that of the cataloging level assigned to the user can be set as the cataloging level for the record.
      As a user preference, you may set the use_record_cataloging_level_by_default customer parameter to specify the default behavior when editing records with assigned cataloging levels. With the use_record_cataloging_level_by_default customer parameter set to true, the change to cataloging level defaults to the same cataloging level as the record's Current cataloging level. When the use_record_cataloging_level_by_default customer parameter is set to true, an overt action on your part is required to change the cataloging level to a different cataloging level. If you are making record changes that do not affect the cataloging level, you may prefer this option. See use_record_cataloging_level_by_default for more information.
      If the user’s cataloging permission level is lower than the cataloging level assigned to the record, the user can only view the record (see below).
      User's Cataloging Permission Level Is Lower than the Cataloging Level Assigned to the Record
      In a collaborative network, however, a user with a lower cataloging permission level than the cataloging level assigned to the record in the Network catalog can add and remove local fields (see below).
      Add_Remove_Local_Fields_from_a_Network_Zone_Member_Institution_NewUI_02_TC.png
      Add/Remove Local Fields from a Network Zone Member Institution
      Adding_Editing_a_Local_Field_from_a_Network_Zone_Member_Institution_NewUI_02_TC.png
      Adding/Editing a Local Field from a Network Zone Member Institution
    2. Select a new cataloging level for the record from the drop-down list.
    3. Select Save. The current cataloging level of the record is updated to reflect your change.

    Working in the MD Editor with Cataloger Privileges Lower than the Bibliographic Record

    If a user's cataloging privileges are lower than the cataloging level of the bibliographic record, the user has limited functions that can be performed.
    Lower_Cataloger_Level_than_the_Bibliographic_Record_Level_06.png
    Lower Cataloger Level than the Bibliographic Record Level
    The functions that can be performed include the following:
    • Add holdings
    • Create PO line
    • Suppress records
    • View versions
    • Browse bibliographic headings
    • View notes
    • View inventory
    When working with Network Zone records from a member institution and a user's cataloging privileges are lower than the cataloging level of the bibliographic record, the following functions can be performed:
    • All the functions described in the list above
    • Add local fields (and Save options)

    Searching for Records Using the Cataloging Level

    The Alma repository advanced search options provides the indexed criteria for creating searches that use the cataloging levels that you have defined.
    To search for records based on a cataloging level:
    1. Select Advanced Search.
    2. Select Title from the drop-down list.
    3. Select Cataloger Level from the expanded drop-down list.
      Cataloging_Level_Advanced_Search_NewUI_04_TC.png
      Cataloging Level Advanced Search
    4. Select Add Conditions.
    5. Select your cataloging level criteria.
      Cataloging_Level_Search_Criteria_NewUI_02_TC.png
      Cataloging Level Search Criteria
    6. Select Go. The search results display a list of records that have a cataloging level assignment matching the criteria that you selected.

    Assigning Cataloging Levels to a Set of Records

    Cataloging levels can easily be assigned to groups of bibliographic or authority records by using sets of records and running one of the following jobs:
    • Set Bib Records Cataloging Level
    • Set Authority Records Cataloging Level
    See the relevant job in Running Manual Jobs on Defined Sets.

    Setting Cataloging Level User Preferences

    With the cataloging_level_user_preferences customer parameter, you can define the default behavior for selecting levels with the Cataloging Permission Level drop-down list in the MD Editor. See cataloging_level_user_preferences and use_record_cataloging_level_by_default (which overrules cataloging_level_user_preferences) for more information.