Skip to main content
ExLibris
  • Subscribe by RSS
  • Ex Libris Knowledge Center

    Restoring Deleted Records

    Translatable
    To restore deleted records, you must have the role Repository Manager.
    You can restore repository records that were manually deleted on the Manage deleted repository page (Resources > Advanced Tools > Manage deleted repository). You can restore a single deleted record by ID or enter criteria to match a list of records that were deleted.
    Manage deleted repository Page
    To restore deleted records:
    1. In Find, select the type of records to restore.
    2. In Search criteria, enter information about the record(s):
      • To restore multiple records:
        • By date range: select Deleted range. Select a date range within which the records were deleted.
        • By a user or by a job: select Deleted by. For a user, select User, select the user in the User, and select a date range. For a job, select Job id and enter the ID.
      • To restore a single record, select MMS ID/PID and enter one of the identifiers that you can search for. The identifier you can enter depends on the search type you selected in Find above:
        • All Titles: MMS ID of the bib record. The MMS ID is the record ID number.
        • Collections: Collection PID. The PID is a system number for an inventory entity. See Configuring Search Indexes.
        • Digital Files: File PID
        • Digital Remote Representations: Remote Representation PID
        • Digital RepresentationsRepresentation PID
          Note: When restoring digital files and representations together, select the "Digital Files" option to restore, not the "Digital representations" option.
        • Electronic Portfolios: Portfolio ID
        • Holding: MMS ID of the holding record
        • Physical Items: Item ID
    3. Select Search. The list of matching records appears on the page.
      Manage deleted repository Page with Matching Record
    4. Select a record title to view brief information about a record; see Viewing Metadata Read-Only in the Simple Record View Page.
    5. Select Restore and select Confirm in the confirmation dialog box to restore a record.
    • When restoring records deleted by a user, only records deleted by the last action performed by that user are restored.
    • Restoring a bibliographic record restores all records that were deleted together with it, for example holdings and item records.
    • Restoring an item record restores its higher level records, for example holdings and bibliographic records, but not other records that were under its associated bibliographic record.
    • For records deleted by the Synchronize Changes from CZ job, the “Deleted By” is indicated as 'System' or as 'Electronic Inventory Creator'. (the difference is due to internal processes and does not have any influence on the functionality).
    • Was this article helpful?