Skip to main content
ExLibris
Ex Libris Knowledge Center

Alma Analytics Master Class - Fall 2021

We are pleased to invite you to join an Alma Analytics Master Class.  The APAC sessions will be presented by Yoel Kortick, while the NA/EMEA sessions will be presented by Kevin Lane-Cummings. The Alma Analytics Master Class is a series of eight 90-minute sessions intended to provide learning opportunities for Alma Analytics operators at all levels. These sessions include information on using Analytics to manage inventory, monitor Acquisitions and Fulfillment activities and more.

The Master Class is structured as follows:

  • Session 01 = A general overview and introduction

  • Sessions 02-03 = A focus on specific areas such as physical and electronic inventory, fulfillment, acquisitions and COUNTER usage.

  • Sessions 04-08 = A drill down to specific analytics functionalities which can help make reports be created and "consumed" more efficiently.

All sessions will be recorded and made available for later viewing. These sessions are being offered twice, so look carefully at the dates and times to select the correct one for your time zone. Join us for one, many or all sessions!

Register for multiple sessions simultaneously here.

Session Number

Session Name

Description

Additional Resources

APAC

NA/EMEA

 

01

Overview and Introduction to Analytics

This session will include the following topics: documentation, roles, accessing and "consuming" analytics, subject areas, ETL, folder structure and using the default ready-to-use reports and dashboards.

Time-permitting we will begin some actual report creation.

 

Wednesday, Oct. 20th

Jerusalem 8am, Singapore 1pm, Sydney 4pm

Recording

 

Thursday, Oct. 21st

San Francisco 8am, Chicago 10am, New York 11am, London 4pm

Recording

 

02

Physical Inventory and Fulfillment in Alma Analytics

This session will include the following topics:  default ready-to-use reports and dashboards which pertain to physical inventory and fulfillment, locally customizing the default reports, creating new reports including the following (time permitting):

  • Items "Missing” or "Lost" longer than X months ago

  • Duplicate item barcodes

  • The most requested items

  • Items returned later than X days after due date

  • Mismatches between item and bibliographic record material types

Wednesday, Oct. 27th

Jerusalem 8am, Singapore 1pm, Sydney 4pm

Register

Recording

 

Thursday, Oct. 28th

San Francisco 8am, Chicago 10am, New York 11am, London 4pm

Register

Recording

 

 

03

Electronic Inventory,  Usage and Acquisitions  in Alma Analytics

This session will include the following topics:  default ready-to-use reports and dashboards which pertain to electronic inventory, COUNTER usage and acquisitions, locally customizing the default reports, creating new reports including the following (time permitting):

  • Usage by publisher in 2020 for TR_B1 Book Requests

  • The amount of portfolios activated  (by date) in the electronic collection “Ebook Central Perpetual DDA and Subscription Titles”

  • The titles of portfolios activated  (by date) in the electronic collection “Ebook Central Perpetual DDA and Subscription Titles”

  • New titles received in the last month

  • Fund expenditures by fiscal period, format and subject

Wednesday, Nov. 3th

Jerusalem 8am, Singapore 2pm, Sydney 5pm

Register

Recording

Thursday, Nov. 4th

San Francisco 8am, Chicago 10am, New York 11am, London 3pm

Register

Recording

 

04

Creating and Managing Dashboards in Analytics

During this session we will show how to create a new analytics dashboard from scratch, showing each of the stages in detail.   Time-permitting we will also edit an existing default dashboard.

Wednesday, Nov. 10th

Jerusalem 8am, Singapore 2pm, Sydney 5pm

Register

Recording

 

Thursday, Nov. 11th

San Francisco 8am, Chicago 10am, New York 11am, London 4pm

Register

Recording

 

05

Creating and Managing Prompts in Analytics

This session will focus on various functionalities relating to prompts,  both in reports as well as in dashboards. Some of the topics we will cover are:

  • How to create a prompt in an Alma Analytics report

  • How to make the report Analytics report prompt input be case insensitive

  • How to make the report prompt date be a specific date using SQL

  • How to make the report prompt date begin by default three months ago using SQL

  • How to make the report prompt date be the current year using SQL

  • How to create a prompt by NULL and NOT NULL in an Alma Analytics report

  • How to include the values chosen in prompts as part of the header in the analytics report results

  • How to create a link to rerun a prompted Alma Analytics report

 

Wednesday, Nov. 17th

Jerusalem 8am, Singapore 2pm, Sydney 5pm

Register

Recording

 

Thursday, Nov. 18th

San Francisco 8am, Chicago 10am, New York 11am, London 4pm

Register

Recording

 

 

06

Filters and Functions in Analytics

Filters and functions can improve both the data retrieved as well as the aesthetic appearance of the reports. Some of the filters and functions we will look at include:

Filters:

  • How to filter by contents of a specific position of a control field in Alma Analytics

  • How to filter by a string for both uppercase and lowercase with one filter

  • How to use multiple filters per column in an Alma analytics report

  • How to filter in an Analytics report for fields which contain a semicolon

Functions:

  • How to concatenate multiple rows of the same field to one row

  • How to change a date field which contains date and time to only contain date

  • How to use RCOUNT to add a running number to each row of a report in Alma Analytics

  • How to use RCOUNT to display the total number of rows in an Analytics report

  • How to use the CASE condition to change text in an Alma Analytics report

  • How to use the SUBSTRING function to separate out part of a column in an Alma analytics report

Wednesday, Dec. 1st

Jerusalem 8am, Singapore 2pm, Sydney 5pm

Register

Recording

 

Thursday, Dec. 2nd

San Francisco 8am, Chicago 10am, New York 11am, London 4pm

Register

Recording

 

 

07

Analytics Objects

Analytics objects allow the institution to have the reports "consumed" by a wide audience.  

They include widgets, dashboards, scheduled email reports, and scheduled reports to an ftp server. 

We will look at how to create the various analytics objects.

Wednesday, Dec. 8th

Jerusalem 8am, Singapore 2pm, Sydney 5pm

Register

Recording

Thursday, Dec. 9th

San Francisco 8am, Chicago 10am, New York 11am, London 4pm

Register

Recording

 

08

Useful Tips in Analytics

In  this final session we will investigate several tips which can help the analytics designer create the "perfect report".  Some of these tips include:

  • How to save a customized Alma Analytics column to be used in future reports

  • How to add a logo to the top of an Alma Analytics report

  • How to use the output of one Alma Analytics report as the input for a subsequent Alma Analytics report

  • Creating sets in Alma from Alma Analytics Reports

  • How to change the no results message to a specific message in an Analytics report

  • How to concatenate two or more fields in an Alma Analytics report

  • How to conditionally change the text format in an Alma Analytics report

Wednesday, Dec. 15th

Jerusalem 8am, Singapore 2pm, Sydney 5pm

Register

Recording

Thursday, Dec. 16th

San Francisco 8am, Chicago 10am, New York 11am, London 4pm

Register

Recording

  • Was this article helpful?