Skip to main content
ExLibris
  • Subscribe by RSS
  • Ex Libris Knowledge Center

    Alma Analytics: Become an Expert

    Alma Analytics: Become an Expert is a series of eight 90-minute sessions intended to provide learning opportunities for Alma Analytics operators at all levels. These sessions include information on using Analytics to manage inventory, monitor Acquisitions and Fulfillment activities and more.

    Badge_- Alma Analytics Expert

    Alma Analytics: Become an Expert is a series of eight 90-minute sessions intended to provide learning opportunities for Alma Analytics operators at all levels. These sessions include information on using Analytics to manage inventory, monitor Acquisitions and Fulfillment activities and more. 

    The Become an Expert series is structured as follows:

    • Session 01 = A general overview and introduction

    • Sessions 02-03 = A focus on specific areas such as physical and electronic inventory, fulfillment, acquisitions and COUNTER usage.

    • Sessions 04-08 = A drill down to specific analytics functions that can help you create reports more efficiently.

     

    Click here to register for all EMEA sessions

    Click here to register for all APAC sessions

    Click here to register for all AMERICAS sessions

    Session Number

    Session Name

    Description

    Additional Resources

    EMEA

    APAC

    AMERICAS

    Previous Recordings

     

    01

    Overview and Introduction to Analytics

    This session will include:

    • Accessing and "consuming" analytics
    • Roles
    • ETL - Extract, Transform, and Load
    • Folder structure of ready-to-use reports
    • Dashboards
    • Create a report

    Registration

    Tuesday, February 14 

    9:00 AM London

    10:00 AM Berlin

    11:00 AM Jerusalem

    1:00 PM Dubai

    Other World Times

     

    Recording (coming Feb. 16)

    Registration

    Thursday, February 16

    9:00 AM Hong Kong

    12:00 PM Sydney

    2:00 PM Wellington

    3:00 PM Honolulu (Wednesday, February 15)

    Other World Times

     

    Recording (coming Feb. 17)

    Registration

    Thursday, February 16

    9:00 AM Los Angeles, CA

    12:00 PM Boston, MA

    1:00 PM Charlottetown, PE

    2:00 PM Brasilia, DF

    Other World Times

     

    Recording (coming Feb. 17)

     

    Recording (2021)

     

    02

    Physical Inventory and Fulfillment in Alma Analytics

    This session will include:

    • Default, ready-to-use reports and dashboards that analyze physical inventory and fulfillment
    • Creating custom reports that analyze physical inventory and fulfillment
    • Presentation Slides (coming Feb. 20)

    • Exercises (coming Feb. 21)

    • More documentation and training resources:

      • (coming soon!)

    Registration

    Tuesday, February 21 

    9:00 AM London

    10:00 AM Berlin

    11:00 AM Jerusalem

    1:00 PM Dubai

    Other World Times

     

    Recording (coming Feb. 23)

    Registration

    Thursday, February 23

    9:00 AM Hong Kong

    12:00 PM Sydney

    2:00 PM Wellington

    3:00 PM Honolulu (Wednesday, February 22)

    Other World Times

     

    Recording (coming Feb. 24)

    Registration

    Thursday, February 23

    9:00 AM Los Angeles, CA

    12:00 PM Boston, MA

    1:00 PM Charlottetown, PE

    2:00 PM Brasilia, DF

    Other World Times

     

    Recording (coming Feb. 24)

    Recording (2021)

     

    03

    Electronic Inventory,  Usage and Acquisitions  in Alma Analytics

    This session will include:

    • Default, ready-to-use reports and dashboards that analyze electronic inventory, usage, and acquisitions
    • Creating custom reports that analyze electronic inventory, usage, and acquisitions
    • Presentation Slides (coming Feb. 27)

    • Exercises (coming Feb. 28)

    • More documentation and training resources:

      • (coming soon!)

    Registration

    Tuesday, February 28

    9:00 AM London

    10:00 AM Berlin

    11:00 AM Jerusalem

    1:00 PM Dubai

    Other World Times

     

    Recording (coming Mar. 2)

    Registration

    Thursday,  March 2

    9:00 AM Hong Kong

    12:00 PM Sydney

    2:00 PM Wellington

    3:00 PM Honolulu (Wednesday, March 1)

    Other World Times

     

    Recording (coming Mar. 3)

    Registration

    Thursday, March 2

    9:00 AM Los Angeles, CA

    12:00 PM Boston, MA

    1:00 PM Charlottetown, PE

    2:00 PM Brasilia, DF

    Other World Times

     

    Recording (coming Mar. 3)

    Recording (2021)

     

    04

    Creating and Managing Dashboards in Analytics

    During this session we will show how to:

    • Create a new analytics dashboard
    • Edit a default dashboard
    • Create a dashboard prompt
    • Presentation Slides (coming Mar. 6)

    • Exercises (coming Mar. 7)

    • More documentation and training resources:

      • (coming soon!)

    Registration

    Tuesday, March 7 

    9:00 AM London

    10:00 AM Berlin

    11:00 AM Jerusalem

    1:00 PM Dubai

    Other World Times

     

    Recording (coming Mar. 9)

    Registration

    Thursday, March 9

    9:00 AM Hong Kong

    12:00 PM Sydney

    2:00 PM Wellington

    3:00 PM Honolulu (Wednesday, March 8)

    Other World Times

     

    Recording (coming Mar. 10)

    Registration

    Thursday, March 9

    9:00 AM Los Angeles, CA

    12:00 PM Boston, MA

    1:00 PM Charlottetown, PE

    2:00 PM Brasilia, DF

    Other World Times

     

    Recording (coming Mar. 10)

    Recording (2021)

     

    05

    Creating and Managing Prompts in Analytics

    This session will focus on the following:

    • How prompts are used in analytics reports

    • How to create a prompt in an Alma Analytics report

    • How to refine your prompts

     

    • Presentation Slides (coming Mar. 13)

    • Exercises (coming Mar. 14)

    • More documentation and training resources:

      • (coming soon!)

    Registration

    Tuesday, March 14

    9:00 AM London

    10:00 AM Berlin

    11:00 AM Jerusalem

    1:00 PM Dubai

    Other World Times

     

    Recording (coming Mar. 16)

    Registration

    Thursday, March 16

    9:00 AM Hong Kong

    12:00 PM Sydney

    2:00 PM Wellington

    3:00 PM Honolulu (Wednesday, March 15)

    Other World Times

     

    Recording (coming Mar. 17)

    Registration

    Thursday, March 16

    9:00 AM Los Angeles, CA

    12:00 PM Boston, MA

    1:00 PM Charlottetown, PE

    1:00 PM Brasilia, DF

    Other World Times

     

    Recording (coming Mar. 17)

    Recording (2021)

     

    06

    Filters and Functions in Analytics

    This session covers how to create Filters for:

    • Contents of a specific position of a control field in Alma Analytics

    • Strings with both uppercase and lowercase

    • Multiple filters per column in an analytics report

    • Special characters

     

    And how to create Functions that:

    • Change a date & time field to only contain the date

    • RCOUNT (row numbers)

    • CASE condition to change text

    • SUBSTRING function to separate out part of a column

    • Concatenate multiple rows of the same field to one row

    • Presentation Slides (coming Mar. 20)

    • Exercises (coming Mar. 21)

    • More documentation and training resources:

      • (coming soon!)

    Registration

    Tuesday, March 21

    9:00 AM London

    10:00 AM Berlin

    11:00 AM Jerusalem

    1:00 PM Dubai

    Other World Times

     

    Recording (coming Mar. 23)

    Registration

    Thursday, March 23

    9:00 AM Hong Kong

    12:00 PM Sydney

    2:00 PM Wellington

    3:00 PM Honolulu (Wednesday, March 22)

    Other World Times

     

    Recording (coming Mar. 24)

    Registration

    Thursday, March 23

    9:00 AM Los Angeles, CA

    12:00 PM Boston, MA

    1:00 PM Charlottetown, PE

    1:00 PM Brasilia, DF

    Other World Times

     

    Recording (coming Mar. 24)

    Recording (2021)

     

    07

    Analytics Objects

    This session includes how to:

    • Add Analytics Widget to Alma Home Page
    • Create Analytics Dashboard Object Accessible from Analytics Menu
    • Create Report Object
    • Create Scheduled Report to be sent to Alma and non-Alma Users
    • Automate Sending Report to FTP Server
    • Troubleshoot Analytics Objects
    • Presentation Slides (coming Mar. 27)

    • Exercises (coming Mar. 28)

    • More documentation and training resources:

      • (coming soon!)

    Registration

    Tuesday, March 28 

    9:00 AM London

    10:00 AM Berlin

    11:00 AM Jerusalem

    12:00 PM Dubai

    Other World Times

     

    Recording (coming Mar. 30)

    Registration

    Thursday, March 30

    9:00 AM Hong Kong

    12:00 PM Sydney

    2:00 PM Wellington

    3:00 PM Honolulu (Wednesday, March 29)

    Other World Times

     

    Recording (coming Mar. 31)

    Registration

    Thursday, March 30

    9:00 AM Los Angeles, CA

    12:00 PM Boston, MA

    1:00 PM Charlottetown, PE

    1:00 PM Brasilia, DF

    Other World Times

     

    Recording (coming Mar. 31)

    Recording (2021)

     

    08

    Useful Tips in Analytics

    In  this final session we will cover how to:

    • Save a customized Alma Analytics column for future reports

    • Add a logo to the top of a report

    • Use analytics report output as the input for a subsequent report

    • Create an Alma set from an analytics report

    • Customize the "no results" message

    • Concatenate two or more fields in a report

    • Conditionally change the text format a report

    If time permits at the end of the session, attendees will be invited to ask questions and discuss any subject of the entire series of classes.

    • Presentation Slides (coming Apr. 3)

    • Exercises (coming Apr. 4)

    • More documentation and training resources:

      • (coming soon!)

    Registration

    Tuesday, April 4 

    9:00 AM London

    10:00 AM Berlin

    11:00 AM Jerusalem

    12:00 PM Dubai

    Other World Times

     

    Recording (coming Apr. 6)

    Registration

    Thursday, April 6

    9:00 AM Hong Kong

    11:00 AM Sydney

    1:00 PM Wellington

    3:00 PM Honolulu (Wednesday, April 5)

    Other World Times

     

    Recording (coming Apr. 7)

    Registration

    Thursday, April 6

    9:00 AM Los Angeles, CA

    12:00 PM Boston, MA

    1:00 PM Charlottetown, PE

    1:00 PM Brasilia, DF

    Other World Times

     

    Recording (coming Apr. 7)

    Recording (2021)
    • Was this article helpful?